Current Issue: Rg 29 (2021)

Editorial

The 2021 issue of Rechtsgeschichte – Legal History is the first to be published by the »Max Planck Institute for Legal History and Legal Theory« (mpilhlt). The two changes to the name that the Institute carried for over half a century – the addition of »legal theory« and the deletion of »European« – reflect the expansion of our research areas over the last decade. That our research no longer focuses on »European« legal history, but rather explores the legal history of Europe in a global-historical context or as the history of European integration has been very visible in the contributions to this journal since 2010.

Legal theory, too, had already been part of various endeavours undertaken at the Institute in the past. With the appointment of Marietta Auer as the third director of the Max Planck Institute on 1 September 2020, however, the Max Planck Society created an additional research department dedicated to »Multidisciplinary Theory of Law«, which joins the existing two legal-historical departments. In her contribution to the [more]

From the Current Issue

Sections


About the Journal

Rechtsgeschichte – Legal History (Rg) is published by the Max Planck Institute for Legal History and Legal Theory and edited by the directors Marietta Auer, Thomas Duve and Stefan Vogenauer. The journal aims to be a forum for high-level scholarship on all branches of legal history. Its scope therefore reflects the full breadth of the discipline and is not restricted to particular periods of time or specific areas of law. Its particular profile derives from the research conducted at the Institute on the legal history of Europe, the common law worlds and the Iberian monarchies.

The journal has an international orientation and adopts a multilingual approach in order to reflect the diversity of global legal and research cultures. Each issue contains articles on a specific thematic ‘focus’, a section called ‘debate’ or ‘forum’ that brings together short and thought-provoking contributions to a current scholarly debate, and a ‘research’ section with selected outstanding articles on questions of broader interest to legal historians. Reviews of recently published books on legal history can be found in the journal’s ‘critique’ section.

...[more]

The next issue (Rg 30) will be released in September 2022.

Open Access

The online edition of Rg is published in Open Access, i.e. all articles on this website can be read and downloaded as PDF-files free of charge and without prior registration. Further use of the articles is subject to the terms and conditions of a license. More information can be found on our page »Open Access«. The print version of each issue can be purchased directly via the publisher Vittorio Klostermann or at bookshops.

Volumes

Editorial

Thomas Duve

The 2021 issue of Rechtsgeschichte – Legal History is the first to be published by the »Max Planck Institute for Legal History and Legal Theory« (mpilhlt). The two changes to the name that the Institute carried for over half a century – the addition of »legal theory« and the deletion of »European« – reflect the expansion of our research areas over the last decade. That our research no longer focuses on »European« legal history, but rather explores the legal history of Europe in a global-historical context or as the history of European integration has been very visible in the contributions to this journal since 2010.

Legal theory, too, had already been part of various endeavours undertaken at the Institute in the past. With the appointment of Marietta Auer as the third director of the Max Planck Institute on 1 September 2020, however, the Max Planck Society created an additional research department dedicated to »Multidisciplinary Theory of Law«, which joins the existing two legal-historical departments. In her contribution to the Research section of this issue, Marietta Auer gives an insight into the research programme with which she has come to Frankfurt. We – the directors of the legal-historical departments »European and Comparative Legal History« (Stefan Vogenauer) and »Historical Regimes of Normativity« (Thomas Duve), the heads of our research groups and all members of staff – consider the addition of this third department a crucial decision regarding the Institute’s future course. Above all, we are confident that it will also intellectually strengthen legal history. What is true for the Institute and the discipline also applies to this journal, whose board of editors Marietta Auer has now joined: Welcome!

How much the discipline of legal history needs a theoretically reflected methodology is the subject of the second Research article in this issue. Under the title »Legal history as the history of normative knowledge?«, deliberately ending in a question mark, the article attempts to outline a methodology of legal history beyond the categories of modernity (Thomas Duve). It demonstrates to what extent a legal history oriented towards the condition of law after modernity must also build on the patient reconstruction of historical knowledges of normativity. An impressive example of such fundamental research in legal history is the third contribution to the Research section: Wolfram Brandes’ review of the work on Byzantine studies conducted at the Institute over more than four decades, initiated by Dieter Simon. Thanks to many years of funding from the Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Wolfram Brandes was able to continue this research until 2020.

Two of the three Focus sections in this issue also arise from research projects carried out in the legal-historical departments at the Institute. The one on »Early Modern Books in Motion and the Production of Normative Knowledge«, edited by Manuela Bragagnolo, is connected to her work on legal history and media history, particularly of the Iberian worlds, in the department »Historical Regimes of Normativity«. For this issue’s series of images, Michael Widener of the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University has assembled a short history of legal books, with his contribution to the Marginalia providing context and commentary.

The second Focus section, edited by Sigfrido Ramírez Pérez and Stefan Vogenauer, is dedicated to the method of oral history, which is used in the department »European and Comparative Legal History« above all in the context of research on European integration. The third Focus presents five contributions originally presented at the XXVth Forum of Young Legal Historians in Brussels in June 2019. The organisers of the conference, Wouter De Rycke, Cornelis Marinus in ’t Veld, Maxime Jottrand, Romain Landmeters and Stephanie Plasschaert, also provided the introduction to this section.

This year’s Debate focuses on a book that raised high expectations already in advance of publication: Martti Koskenniemi’s over 1000-page long To the Uttermost Parts of the Earth. Though the work starts with the proviso that it does not represent a history of international law, it will, as the introduction to the section makes clear, inevitably be read as such. Thirteen colleagues from different disciplines and academic cultures have contributed their impressions on first reading the book, and the section ends with a response by Martti Koskenniemi. After the as always sizeable Critique section, including a large number of reviews written by researchers at the Institute, a further Marginalia contribution on the interrelationships between forms of trade, law and architecture by Johannes W. Flume completes this year’s issue.

The topics assembled in the journal poignantly demonstrate how much Michael Stolleis will be missed. Not only was he a director of this Institute and for many years the editor of this journal. As can only be hinted at in our obituary, he was, among many other things, a pioneer of the history of international law; he was among the first to explore the connection between images, architecture and law; he closely followed European integration and included it in his history of public law; and, last but not least, questions of legal-historical method were always a special concern of his. Less widely known might be that the contributions to the XXVth Forum of Young Legal Historians in 2019 published in this issue would probably not have been held without the foundations laid by him. In 1992, using the funds of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize that he had been awarded the year before, Michael Stolleis invited young legal historians from East and West Germany to Frankfurt for a first discussion with the aim of bringing the discipline together after the fall of the Wall. This initiative soon turned into an institution: the »Forum junger Rechtshistoriker« met for the first time in Halle in 1995, took place in Berlin in 1996, and in Graz in 1997 called itself the »Europäisches Forum junger Rechtshistorikerinnen und Rechtshistoriker«. Some years later – earlier than the Max Planck Institute – it dropped the qualifier »European«. Today, the Forum has become a meeting of young legal historians from all over the world. Michael Stolleis would have been pleased to hold in his hands this issue with the contributions to the 25th anniversary conference and the many other spotlights on the rich and diverse history of law from Byzantium to Brussels.–

Recommended citation:
 Download  copy Citation

Aktuelle Ausgabe: Rg 29 (2021)

Editorial

Zum ersten Mal erscheint in diesem Jahr 2021 die Rechtsgeschichte – Legal History als Zeitschrift des »Max-Planck-Institut für Rechtsgeschichte und Rechtstheorie«. Die beiden Änderungen des inzwischen mehr als ein halbes Jahrhundert alten Namens – also der Zusatz »Rechtstheorie« und die Streichung »europäische« – stehen für die Erweiterung unserer Arbeitsgebiete in den letzten Jahren. Dass wir nicht mehr allein »europäische« Rechtsgeschichte betreiben, diese heute vielmehr als Rechtsgeschichte von Europa in globalhistorischer Perspektive oder als Geschichte der europäischen Integration erforschen, ist nicht zuletzt in den Beiträgen dieser Zeitschrift seit 2010 deutlich geworden.

Auch die Rechtstheorie war am Institut in der Vergangenheit bereits mit unterschiedlichen Konjunkturen präsent. Doch mit der Berufung von Marietta Auer zur Direktorin am Max-Planck-Institut zum 1. September 2020 hat die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft eine zusätzliche neue Forschungsabteilung »Multidisziplinäre Rechtstheorie« eingerichtet, die neben die bestehenden rechtshistorischen ... [mehr]

Aus der aktuellen Ausgabe

Rubriken


Über die Zeitschrift

Rechtsgeschichte – Legal History (Rg) ist die Zeitschrift des Max-Planck-Instituts für Rechtsgeschichte und Rechtstheorie, herausgegeben von den Direktoren Marietta Auer, Thomas Duve und Stefan Vogenauer. Sie deckt die ganze Bandbreite des Fachs ab und beschränkt sich nicht auf bestimmte Epochen oder Rechtsgebiete. Ihr besonderes Profil erhält sie durch die am Institut durchgeführte rechtshistorische Forschung zur Rechtsgeschichte Europas, den Welten des Common Law und der iberischen Monarchien.

Die Zeitschrift ist international und multilingual ausgerichtet. Sie trägt damit der Vielfalt von Rechts- und Forschungskulturen Rechnung. Jedes Heft enthält auf einen thematischen »Fokus« bezogene Beiträge, einen »Debatten«- oder »Forum«-Teil mit pointierten Diskussionsbeiträgen sowie ausgewählte herausragende Beiträge zu rechtshistorischen Themen von allgemeinem Interesse in der Rubrik »Recherche«. Die Rubrik »Kritik« versammelt Rezensionen aus der rechtshistorischen Forschung.

...[mehr]

Die nächste Ausgabe (Rg 30) erscheint im September 2022.

Open Access

Die Online-Ausgabe der Rg wird im Open Access veröffentlicht, d.h. alle Artikel auf dieser Webseite können kostenfrei und ohne vorherige Registrierung gelesen und als PDF heruntergeladen werden. Für jede weitere Nutzung der Artikelinhalte gelten Lizenzbestimmungen, die auf der Seite »Open Access« erläutert sind. Die Printversion jeder Ausgabe kann über den Verlag Vittorio Klostermann oder über den Buchhandel bezogen werden.

Bände

Editorial

Thomas Duve

Zum ersten Mal erscheint in diesem Jahr 2021 die Rechtsgeschichte – Legal History als Zeitschrift des »Max-Planck-Institut für Rechtsgeschichte und Rechtstheorie«. Die beiden Änderungen des inzwischen mehr als ein halbes Jahrhundert alten Namens – also der Zusatz »Rechtstheorie« und die Streichung »europäische« – stehen für die Erweiterung unserer Arbeitsgebiete in den letzten Jahren. Dass wir nicht mehr allein »europäische« Rechtsgeschichte betreiben, diese heute vielmehr als Rechtsgeschichte von Europa in globalhistorischer Perspektive oder als Geschichte der europäischen Integration erforschen, ist nicht zuletzt in den Beiträgen dieser Zeitschrift seit 2010 deutlich geworden.

Auch die Rechtstheorie war am Institut in der Vergangenheit bereits mit unterschiedlichen Konjunkturen präsent. Doch mit der Berufung von Marietta Auer zur Direktorin am Max-Planck-Institut zum 1. September 2020 hat die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft eine zusätzliche neue Forschungsabteilung »Multidisziplinäre Rechtstheorie« eingerichtet, die neben die bestehenden rechtshistorischen Abteilungen tritt. Marietta Auer gibt in ihrem Beitrag zu Beginn dieses Heftes im Teil Recherche einen Einblick in das Forschungsprogramm, mit dem sie nach Frankfurt gekommen ist. Wir – die Direktoren der rechtshistorischen Abteilungen »Europäische und vergleichende Rechtsgeschichte« (Stefan Vogenauer) und »Historische Normativitätsregime« (Thomas Duve), die Leiterinnen unserer Forschungsgruppen sowie alle Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter – halten dies für eine wichtige institutionelle Weichenstellung. Vor allem sind wir aber sicher, dass sie auch für die Rechtsgeschichte eine wichtige intellektuelle Stärkung mit sich bringt. Was für das Institut und das Fach gilt, gilt auch für die Zeitschrift, in deren Herausgeberkreis sie nun eingetreten ist : Willkommen !

Wie sehr das Fach einer auch rechtstheoretisch reflektierten Methode bedarf, versucht der zweite Beitrag im Rechercheteil zu verdeutlichen. Unter dem mit einem Fragezeichen versehenen Titel »Rechtsgeschichte als Geschichte von Normativitätswissen ?« wird hier der Versuch unternommen, eine Methodik für eine Rechtsgeschichte jenseits der Kategorien der Moderne zu skizzieren (Thomas Duve). Dabei wird deutlich, in welch hohem Maße auch eine solche auf die nachmoderne Kondition des Rechts ausgerichtete Rechtshistorie auf der geduldigen Rekonstruktion von historischem Normativitätswissen aufbauen muss. Ein eindrucksvolles Zeugnis einer solchen rechtshistorischen Grundlagenforschung ist der dritte Beitrag im Recherche-Teil : Der Rückblick von Wolfram Brandes auf die über Jahrzehnte hinweg am Institut durchgeführte Forschung zur Byzantinistik. Diese wurde noch von Dieter Simon angestoßen und konnte durch langjährige Förderung der Göttinger Akademie der Wissenschaften von Wolfram Brandes bis in das Jahr 2020 fortgeführt werden.

Auch zwei der drei foci stammen aus Forschungsprojekten der rechtshistorischen Abteilungen des Instituts. Der Fokus zu »Early Modern Books in Motion and the Production of Normative Knowledge«, der von Manuela Bragagnolo herausgegeben wird, knüpft an ihre Arbeiten in der Abteilung »Historische Normativitätsregime« zu Mediengeschichte und Rechtsgeschichte insbesondere in den Iberian Worlds an. Mit der Bildstrecke dieses Jahres hat Michael Widener von der Lillian Goldman Law Library der Yale University eine kleine Geschichte der juristischen Bücher zusammengestellt und in einer Marginalie kommentiert. Der zweite Fokus, herausgegeben von Sigfrido Ramírez Pérez und Stefan Vogenauer, widmet sich mit der Oral History einer Methode, die in der Abteilung »Europäische und vergleichende Rechtsgeschichte« vor allem in der Forschung zur Rechtsgeschichte der europäischen Integration genutzt wird. Der dritte Fokus schließlich enthält fünf Beiträge, die im Juni 2019 auf der Tagung des XXVth Forum of Young Legal Historians vorgetragen worden sind. Die Organisatoren, Wouter De Rycke, Cornelis Marinus in ’t Veld, Maxime Jottrand, Romain Landmeters, Stephanie Plasschaert, haben die Auswahl eingeleitet.

In der diesjährigen Debatte geht es um ein Buch, das bereits im Vorfeld seiner Publikation hohe Erwartungen geweckt hat : Martti Koskenniemis über 1000-seitiges To the Uttermost Parts of the Earth. Das Werk beginnt mit dem Hinweis, dass es sich nicht um eine Geschichte des internationalen Rechts handele – und wird doch, wie in der Einleitung zur Debatte hervorgehoben wird, unweigerlich als eine solche gelesen werden. Dreizehn Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen und Wissenschaftskulturen haben ihre ersten Leseeindrücke skizziert, Martti Koskenniemi hat auf diese reagiert. Eine wie stets große Zahl von Rezensionen, auch in diesem Heft in vielen Fällen von Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern des Instituts erstellt, sowie eine weitere – umfangreiche – Marginalie zu Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Formen des Handels, Recht und Architektur von Johannes W. Flume runden dieses Heft ab.

Die Themen der Zeitschrift zeigen auf eindrückliche Weise, wie sehr uns Michael Stolleis fehlen wird. Er war nicht nur Direktor des Instituts und langjähriger Herausgeber dieser Zeitschrift. Wie in unserem Nachruf nur angedeutet werden kann, war er neben vielem anderen auch ein Pionier der Völkerrechtsgeschichte, er hat sich früher als andere mit der Verbindung von Bildern, Architektur und Recht beschäftigt, die europäische Integration hat er aufmerksam begleitet und in seine Geschichte des öffentlichen Rechts integriert, und nicht zuletzt waren ihm Fragen der rechtshistorischen Methode stets ein besonderes Anliegen. Was vielleicht weniger bekannt ist : Auch die im Fokus publizierten Vorträge des XXV. Forum of Young Legal Historians in Brüssel 2019 wären ohne ihn wohl nicht gehalten worden. Denn Michael Stolleis war es, der mit den Mitteln des Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preises im Jahr 1992 junge Rechtshistoriker aus Ost und West zu einer ersten Besprechung nach Frankfurt einlud. Es ging ihm um die Zusammenführung der Disziplin nach dem Fall der Mauer. Aus der Initiative wurde bald eine Institution : Das sogenannte »Forum junger Rechtshistoriker«, das zum ersten Mal 1995 in Halle tagte, 1996 in Berlin stattfand und sich 1997 in Graz »Europäisches Forum junger Rechtshistorikerinnen und Rechtshistoriker« nannte. Wieder einige Jahre später – und eher als im Fall des Max-Planck-Instituts – fiel der Zusatz »europäisches« weg. Inzwischen ist das Forum ein Treffpunkt für junge Rechtshistorikerinnen und Rechtshistoriker aus der ganzen Welt geworden. Michael Stolleis hätte seine Freude gehabt, die in dieser Ausgabe publizierten Beiträge der Jubiläumstagung und die vielen anderen Schlaglichter auf die bunte Rechtsgeschichte von Byzanz bis Brüssel in den Händen zu halten.–

Zitiervorschlag:
 Download  Zitiervorschlag kopieren